Motor Vehicle Registration - New Purchase
1/26/17 - *** IMPORTANT INFO regarding the DMV**** Please click on the link at the bottom of the page for imporant information regarding disruption in service for DMV transactions.
For purchases of vehicles with a model year 2000 or newer, you will need to present a certificate of origin, a title with completed transfer of ownership on the back, or a title application prepared by a NH dealer.
For vehicles with a model year 1999 and older, a bill of sale is required along with a previously issued current or expired New Hampshire registration,OR a valid New Hampshire or out-of-state title (or copy), OR a completed VIN Verification Form 19A (available at the Town Clerk’s office or online at the State DMV website). A NH or out-of-state title with completed transfer of ownership on the back is acceptable as a bill of sale. If you wish to transfer your current NH license plates you must present your existing registration so that a determination as to whether or not the plates are transferable can be made.
VIN Verification Form Link: http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/forms/documents/tdmv19a.pdf
With all transactions you will need to show proof of residency (current utility bill, closing statement on home, lease agreement, etc) and/or proof of identification (driver's license).
At the Town Clerk's office, you will pay a motor vehicle permit fee based on the original manufacture’s price of the vehicle. A state registration fee based on the weight of the vehicle will be paid, at which time you will receive your plates. Fees are prorated from the time of registration until the owner’s next birth month.
You may obtain an estimate of fees by using the EReg program, and clicking on the green “Get an Estimate” link once in the application.
Vehicle permit fee rates are established by State law.
Local permit fees (RSA 261:153)
Current year and next year’s models: $18.00 per thousand of the original manufacturer’s list price
Models one year old: $15.00 per thousand of the original manufacturer’s list price
Models two years old: $12.00 per thousand of the original manufacturer’s list price
Models three years old: $9.00 per thousand of the original manufacturer’s list price
Models four years old: $6.00 per thousand of the original manufacturer’s list price
Models five years old and older: per thousand of the original manufacturer’s list price
State registration fees (most vehicles):(RSA 261:141)
0-3000 pounds gross vehicle weight $31.20
3001 – 5000 pounds gross vehicle weight $43.20
5001 -8000 pounds gross vehicle weight $55.20
Temporary Plates: If you are purchasing a vehicle out-of-state or through a private sale, the State of NH-DMV may issue a 20-day temporary plate so that you may pick-up and legally drive the vehicle prior to permanent registration. Temporary plates may be obtained at any State DMV registration office. You must present a signed bill of sale/puchase and sales agreement, a NH driver's license, and a fee of $10.00 to the DMV. DMV registration locations: http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/locations/index.htm
The State of NH does NOT allow you to put plates in your possession on a vehicle prior to registration.
State of NH - DMV website: http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/
- Boat Registrations
- Civil Unions
- Dog Licenses
- Dredge and Fill Permits
- Elections & Voting
- Fund Solicitation Permits
- Marriage Licenses
- Motor Vehicle - Registration Renewals
- Motor Vehicle Registration - New Purchase
- Motor Vehicle Registration - resident moved from within NH
- Motor Vehicle Registrations - Resident New to NH
- Property Taxes
- Transfer Station Permits
- Vital Records