Motor Vehicle Registrations - Resident New to NH
1/26/17 - *** IMPORTANT INFO regarding the DMV**** Please click on the link at the bottom of the page for imporant information regarding disruption in service for DMV transactions.
If you are a new resident to the state you must obtain a New Hampshire Automobile Registration (plates) and Drivers License within 60 days of moving into the State (NH RSA 261:45 & NH RSA 263:35)
You will begin the registration process at the Town Clerk's office. It is required that you bring in proof of identification such as a driver's license and two (2) proofs of residency such as a current utility bill showing service to your Merrimack location, closing statement on a purchased home, lease agreement, notorized statement from a person you are living with, or a payroll check.
For vehicles with a model year 2000 or newer, you will need to bring your out-of-state title to the Town Clerk's office where your New Hampshire title application and registration forms will be prepared. At the Town Clerk's office, you will pay a motor vehicle permit fee based on the original maufacture's price of the vehicle. A state registration fee based on the weight of the vehicle will be paid, at which time you will receive your plates. Fees are prorated from the time of registration until the owner's next birth month.
If your title is being held by a lienholder, bring your current registration to the Town Clerk's office along with the lienholder's name and address, name and address of where the vehicle was purchased, date of purchase, and current odometer reading. You will not be able to register the vehicle until a title swap occurs with your lienholder. At the Town Clerk's office, a NH Title Application will be prepared and forwarded to the NH Title Bureau. The NH Title Bureau will obtain your out-of-state title from your lienholder and provide them with a NH title. Upon completion of this transfer, you will receive a letter from the NH Title Bureau informing you that the swap has occurred and you may return to the Town Clerk's office to register the vehicle.
If your registration is expiring within 20 days of the date you come into the Town Clerk's office, you will bring all of the above information. A NH Title Application and a "60 day hardship registration" documents will be prepared. These documents will be taken to a State DMV office for issuance of a 60 day temporary registration and plates while the title swap occurs. Upon completion of the title swap, the State DMV will mail your permanent plates and registration to you.
For vehicles with a model year 1999 or older, you will need to present your out-of-state registration and either a title for the vehicle or a NH VIN verification form.
NH VIN Verification form link: http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/forms/documents/tdmv19a.pdf
Vehicle permit fee rates are established by State law.
Local permit fees (RSA 261:153)
Current year and next year’s models: $18.00 per thousand of the original manufacturer’s list price
Models one year old: $15.00 per thousand of the original manufacturer’s list price
Models two years old: $12.00 per thousand of the original manufacturer’s list price
Models three years old: $9.00 per thousand of the original manufacturer’s list price
Models four years old: $6.00 per thousand of the original manufacturer’s list price
Models five years old and older: per thousand of the original manufacturer’s list price
State registration fees (most vehicles):(RSA 261:141)
0-3000 pounds gross vehicle weight $31.20
3001 – 5000 pounds gross vehicle weight $43.20
5001 -8000 pounds gross vehicle weight $55.20
You may obtain an estimate of fees by using the EReg program, and clicking on the green “Get an Estimate” link once in the application.
State of NH - DMV website: http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/
- Boat Registrations
- Civil Unions
- Dog Licenses
- Dredge and Fill Permits
- Elections & Voting
- Fund Solicitation Permits
- Marriage Licenses
- Motor Vehicle - Registration Renewals
- Motor Vehicle Registration - New Purchase
- Motor Vehicle Registration - resident moved from within NH
- Motor Vehicle Registrations - Resident New to NH
- Property Taxes
- Transfer Station Permits
- Vital Records