Approved: March 21, 2013 Unsealed: March 21, 2013

Posted: March 25, 2013

Merrimack Town Council Nonpublic Minutes March 14, 2013

Present: Chairman Tom Mahon, Vice Chairman Finlay Rothhaus, Councilor Nancy Harrington, Councilor Dan Dwyer, and Councilor Tom Koenig. Also in attendance were Town Manager Eileen Cabanel, Finance Director Paul Micali, Town Clerk / Tax Collector Diane Trippett. Excused: Councilor Jackie Flood.

MOTION - Vice Chairman Rothhaus moved, seconded by Councilor Harrington, to enter into nonpublic session at 6:00 PM for personnel, RSA 91-A:3, II (a) and RSA 91-A:3, II (b) -Personnel. Motion passed by roll call vote 5-0-0.

Councilor William Boyd III arrived at 6:07 PM.

RSA 91-A:3, II (a) and RSA 91-A:3, II (b) - Personnel

Town Manager Cabanel discussed the vacant Deputy Town Clerk / Tax Collector position, She mentioned to the Town Council that after evaluating the position she felt the need to increase the pay from Grade 9 to Grade 14. The requirements for the job were discussed and Town Manager Cabanel felt that with the requirement of living in Merrimack, in addition to the education and technical nature of the position, it should be similar to other Office Manager positions throughout Town. In addition, Town Manager Cabanel stated that we had two internal candidates for the position. Town Clerk / Tax Collector Diane Trippett mentioned that she is very comfortable with one of the internal candidates, Brenda Dulong. Brenda has been an employee with the Town for over 18 years and is known throughout the community. In addition, Brenda has worked in the past on elections and has an understanding of both the Finance and Town Clerk/Tax Collector's Departments. Currently Brenda is making \$52,167 and by making the Deputy Town Clerk / Tax Collector position a Grade 14, Brenda would be able to move laterally into the Deputy's position.

MOTION – Councilor Harrington moved, seconded by Councilor Boyd to seal the nonpublic minutes. Motion passed unanimously 6-0-0.

MOTION - Vice Chairman Rothhaus, seconded by Councilor Dwyer, to close the nonpublic session and adjourn at 6:53 PM. Motion passed unanimously 6-0-0.

Approved: March 21, 2013 Posted: March 25, 2013

Unsealed: March 21, 2013

Finlay C. Rothhaus, Vice Chair

Nancy M. Harrington., Councilor

Daniel Dwyer, Councilor

William W. Boyd, III, Councilor

Thomas J. Mahon, Chairman

Jacqueline J. Flood, Councilor

Thomas P. Koenig, Councilor

Respectfully submitted by Paul T Micali