The present Chamberlain Bridge was built in 1921. The original bridge was a wooden bridge built in 1806. The unique granite bridge was built by the Lovejoy Granite Company of Milford. It is one of the only surviving granite bridges that is straight on one side and curved on the opposite side. Its present structure is sound, consisting of a main arch with a clear span of 60’ 2” and a smaller arch that carried a power canal through one spandel of the bridge to the sites of mills and factories downstream.