Property Tax Exemptions

-A A +A
Property Tax Exemption
 
If you are receiving an exemption in any other town, city or state you are not eligible to receive an exemption in Merrimack.
 
 
FILING PERIOD:
It is the responsibility of the taxpayer to properly apply ANNUALLY for any property tax exemption or the tax deferral program. All applications for property tax exemptions and tax credits are due on or before April 15th. All applications for the property tax deferral program (RSA 72:38-A) must be filed with the Assessing Department by March 1st of the current tax year following the notice of tax.
***IMPORTANT***
Notify the Assessor’s Office of any address changes to insure exemptions are applied to your current residence and for accurate mailing of tax bills. Exemptions will be transferred to the new property for the following April 1st.
 
Elderly Exemption (RSA 72:39)
Requirements:
  • Must be a New Hampshire resident for 3 consecutive years
  • Must be 65 on or before April 1st (or spouse)
  • The property for which the exemption is applied must be the legal residence of applicant(s)
  • Property Transfers: the property cannot be transferred within the last 5 years from a blood relative or marriage
The elderly exemption is based on applicant's income and assets
Income Limit: Yearly Net Income from ALL SOURCES including but not limited to SOCIAL SECURITY, PENSION PAYMENTS and IRA DISTRIBUTIONS : Single $45,000, Married $60,000
 
Assets Limit: $200,000 excluding the Merrimack residence and up to 2 acres of land
 
Exemption Amount:
Age 65 - 74 $75,000 off assessed value
Age 75 - 79 $100,000 off assessed value
Age 80 & up $125,000 off assessed value

Filing Date: application deadline is April 15th

 
Disabled Exemption (RSA 72:37b)
Requirements:
  • Must be eligible under Title II or Title XVI of the Federal Social Security Act for benefits of the disabled
  • Must be a New Hampshire resident for 5 consecutive years
  • The property for which the exemption is applied must be the legal residence of applicant(s)
 
The disabled exemption is based on applicant’s income and assets
Income Limit: Yearly Net Income from ALL SOURCES including but not limited to SOCIAL SECURITY, PENSION PAYMENTS and IRA DISTRIBUTIONS : Single $50,000, Married $67,500
 
Assets Limit: $200,000 excluding the Merrimack residence and up to 2 acres of land
 
Exemption Amount: $75,000 off assessed value
 
Filing Date: application deadline is April 15th
 
 
BLIND EXEMPTION (RSA 72:37) 
 
Requirements:
  • Applies only to residential property and must be the place of residence of the owner
  • Owner must be certified legally blind by: New Hampshire Services for the Blind and Visually Impaired, State of New Hampshire, Department of Education, 78 Regional Dr Bldg 2, Concord NH 03301-8530 603 / 271-3537. 
Exemption Amount: $15,000 off assessed value
 
Filing Date: application deadline is April 15th
 
TAX DEFERRAL PROGRAM (RSA 72:38-A)
 
Requirements:
Any resident property owner may apply for a tax deferral if the person:
Is either at least 65 years old OR
eligible under Title II or Title XVI of the Federal Social Security Act for benefits of the disabled; AND
Must have owned the property for at least 5 consecutive years; AND
Is living in the home on April 1st of the application year
 
Tax deferral may be granted for all or part of taxes due. Annual interest of 5% accrues. Total tax deferrals shall not be more than 85% of its equity value. Tax deferral may be granted if in the opinion of the assessing officials the tax liability causes the taxpayer an undue hardship or possible loss of the property. Applications must be made by March 1st following the issuance of the final tax bill for that year. If property is subject to mortgage, mortgage holder must approve.
 
Filing Date: application deadline is March 1st