Town Council

2017 Town Council Photo

2017/18 Merrimack Town Council 
Standing (left to right): Councilor Bill Boyd, Vice Chair Tom Koenig,
Councilor Peter Albert and Councilor Jackie Flood
Seated (left to right): Councilor Tom Thornton, Councilor Nancy Harrington
and Chairman Finlay Rothhaus

The Town Council meets on the second and fourth Thursday of each month with the exception of meeting once a month in July & August and on the first and third Thursday in November & December. The meeting schedule is as follows:

  • Thursday, June 28, 2018, 6:30 PM - Non-meeting
  • Thursday, June 28, 2018, 7:00 PM - Regular meeting
  • Thursday, July 19, 2018, 7:00 PM - Regular meeting
  • Thursday, August 16, 2018, 7:00 PM - Regular meeting
  • Thursday, September 13, 2018, 7:00 PM - Regular meeting
  • Thursday, September 27, 2018, 7:00 PM - Regular meeting

       *Click here to view the 2018-19 Town Meeting & Budget Schedule*

The Town Council is the governing board for the Town of Merrimack.  It is made up of seven members who are elected from the Town at large for three (3) year staggered terms. All members  take office following certification of their election and after being duly sworn in, and hold office until successors are duly elected and certified.

The Town Charter states that the Council shall have all the powers conferred upon and discharge all the duties imposed upon town councils, town meetings, boards of mayor and aldermen, and selectmen of towns by law except the adoption of a Town Budget. The Town Council shall set policies for Town government and shall bear full responsibility for the implementation of said policies through the hiring and supervision of the Town Manager.

All officers and members of all boards, commissions and committees, and vacancies thereto are appointed by the Council from among Town residents unless otherwise stated in the Town Charter.

As required by the Town Charter, the Council shall establish rules for its proceedings including but not limited to recording of votes, posting and amending of agendas, and such parliamentary and other meeting procedures not inconsistent with the Charter. Click link in download box to view Council's Rules of Procedure.

If you would like to submit a request for an item to be placed on an upcoming agenda for the Town Council's consideration, please fill out a Town Council Agenda Request Form and submit it to the Town Manager's office located in the East Wing of the Town Hall at 6 Baboosic Lake Road in Merrimack.

Please click here for Merrimack Town Council contact information.

Board Members

Name Title
Finlay Rothhaus Chairman (Term Expires 4/2020)
Thomas Koenig Vice Chair (Term Expires 4/2021)
Nancy Harrington Councilor (Term Expires 4/2021)
William W. Boyd, III Councilor (Term Expires 4/2020)
Peter Albert Councilor (Term Expires 4/2021)
Tom Thornton Councilor (Term Expires 4/2019)
Barbara Healey Councilor (Term Expires 4/2019)